Book Review – I Said Yes: My Story of Heartbreak, Redemption and True Love

My book review for April is I Said Yes: My Story of Heartbreak, Redemption and True Love by Emily Maynard Johnson. This was released on March 1st, 2016 and can be found in Indigo for around $31.00 CDN. It’s a hardcopy book and the premise really appealed to me. As I’m living through my own journey of heartbreak and healing right now, I thought this book was interesting. Emily is a real person, who went though some very traumatic situations in her life. I draw a few similarities in her feelings expressed in this book and some of the pain she went through. Although in my case it was just a divorce, I understand the grieving process when it comes to a relationship. Emily was notably a star on both the Batchelor and the Bachelorette. It’s nice to actually see the truth of some of these reality shows, and how it can effect the people involved in them.

I really appreciated Emily’s book in quite a few ways. Just reiterates that I need to be kinder to myself. I’ve gone through a lot in the past year and I need to accept the process. In Emily’s case, she put this to God and his will for her. In my case, it’s just a belief that the universe has other plans (as many of you know I’m not really a believer in God anymore). It was also a good reminder that I need to just keep putting myself out there and one day I’ll meet someone who appreciates and loves me for who I am, imperfections and all.

All in all, I give this book four out of five stars. I really enjoyed it and gave me lots to think about in my own journey.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

