Book Review – The Things We Knew

0718078101

My book review for September is for the novel “The Things We Knew” by Catherine West. This was released on July 12th, 2016 and can be found in Indigo for around $19.00 CDN. I have to say, I found this book a little hard to read. I found the amount of characters in the book to be a few too many. Each character had his or her own story, which a few of them I thought really just got lost in the book and didn’t really add much to the story overall. It was almost too busy which made some parts to me a little confusing. The premise is a family that has suffered a tragedy coming together when the main character reaches out because she needs help. They try to help each other through various trials and personal issues.

In some ways I think quite a few people can relate to the disfunction portrayed. I don’t think any family is immune to this. The family in the book was dealing with so many things; death, grief, addiction, abuse, caring for an unwell parent, scandal, love and ultimately the unknown. You did feel for the characters and you understood the emotion and what some of them were going through.

I do understand the one area of the book very well, creativity is therapy. The main character used painting as her therapy to help her remember. I do know, speaking from personal experience, being creative through art or writing is very helpful and healing.

All in all, I give this book two out of five stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

