Book Review – The I Factor

My book review for December is for the book “The I Factor” by Van Moody. This was released on November 22nd, 2016 and can be found in Indigo for around $21.00 CDN. In all honesty, I really didn’t like this book. The author gave a pretty bold opinion on how certain celebrities “I factors” led to their demise and suicides. This totally made me lose respect for this author right away.

Mental heath is a real issue, some people do need help. They are not less of a human being either for having mental health issues. Sometimes these individuals that do suffer are the kindest people I’ve met, they know what it’s like to feel pain, they don’t want anyone else to suffer like they have. It’s got nothing to do with someone’s “I Factor”. I grew up a Jehovah’s Witness just like poor Michael Jackson, I can see where he got his issues from, not to mention being such a big star at such a young age. It’s also fact that he didn’t want to die and that his doctor was negligent and gave him an overdose.

Sometimes people rise to success, only to lose it at no fault of their own. To say that they are at fault always is judging (kinda what the Bible says not to do I think haha). Each person’s success and failure is sometimes not in their own control. I’ve been laid off from a job that I had no control over losing, the company was suffering and had to cut many jobs. That’s life. Unless I was the owner of that company I would have lost that job, it had nothing to do with my “I Factor”.

Yes, you certainly need to work on yourself if you want to succeed in life. That’s common sense. But to say that anyone that doesn’t have a relationship with God is going to basically fail is just stupid. I think that since religion is out of my life, I live a much better way of life. I feel that my whole life I was living in fear of a “God” who would punish me if I did anything wrong or not according to “his organization”.

Now, there is no fear, I have found the true me. I was held prisoner by my beliefs, but now I’m free. I live by my own common sense principles, that is my “I Factor”. Ultimately I was hoping this book would be less religious, some of the tips are good, but just way to much relying on God. In all honesty, I feel I’m a stronger person without a belief in God in my life, because I have to rely on myself, to me that is a true “I Factor”.

 

If you are religious, this might be a book for you. If you are a “free-thinker”, steer clear. All in all, I give this book one out of five stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

